Jacksboro Independent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Jacksboro ISD will be changing to a new web hosting company by August 1st.  Then we will be adding a APP that will link our site to all of our social media pages.  Stay tuned for further updates coming all summer long.

Hunter Hackley Honored at Ford Scholar Banquet

The Ford Leadership Scholars Program criteria for selection and the leadership development components of the program focus on six characteristics of leadership: action, relationships, vision, character, awareness and continuous improvement. More than 200 FFA members applied to be a part of the program through a process that included an extensive online application, exam over an assigned leadership text, telephone interview and a day-long behavioral interview.

The Ford Leadership Scholars program provides an intense hands-on leadership development experience through apprentice-type scenarios, interaction with nationally-recognized leaders and projects to be completed by student in their respective communities. The program is funded by an endowment established by the Ford Motor Company and Texas Ford dealers. Each scholar also receives a $1,000 academic scholarship.

The Texas Ford Leadership Scholars class of 2017-2018 included:
Travis Davis, Lyford FFA
Tatum Whitewood, Sanger FFA
Conner Neumann, Bellville FFA
Riley McKinzie, Stephenville FFA
Hunter Hackley, Jacksboro FFA
Erin Steglich, Holland FFA
Caroline Rains, Henderson FFA
Samantha Barnett, Florence FFA
Luke Dotson, Dawson FFA
Addison Elstner, Weimar FFA

The Texas FFA Association is dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The organization has evolved from focusing primarily on production agriculture to a broader based encompassing organization that addresses the needs and interests of students in urban and suburban schools in addition to the rural communities.
Hackley was was accompanied at the banquet by mentor, Ken Swan and FFA Advisor, Loren Sell.